top of page

The Georgetown County Historical Society

The mission of the Georgetown County Historical Society is to preserve and promote the history of Georgetown County from its origins to the present, providing perspective on the past and a legacy for the future. 

The Society formed in 1955, and its founding members knew from the beginning that a museum was needed to tell the story of Georgetown and its heritage.  The original "museum" consisted of five display cases upstairs in the Georgetown County Library.  One display case was placed downstairs in a public area of the Library with plans to rotate the articles from time to time.  


In 2005, the Society secured a building on Prince Street through the generosity of Jody Tamsberg, a local businessman.   With the growth of the museum, space became limited, and a new site was needed.  A vacant Georgetown County office building at 120 Broad Street became available. 

The Society renovated the building from a multitude of offices to open gallery space on 2 floors, and the present museum opened in 2013.


We are a 501(c)3 nonprofit organization.  Memberships in the Society, sales in the Rice Trunk Gift Shop, and our programs and fundraising events are our main sources of income.  We receive no funding from any governmental agency except through occasional grants for marketing efforts.  


We rely on the generous support from our Members and Volunteers

Your support is important to our work at Georgetown County Museum. There are many ways you can contribute toward our causes, and every dollar that you commit goes a long way in helping us fulfill our mission. Learn more about how you can get involved and take advantage of the opportunity to help preserve the rich history of Georgetown County.

Debit Card_edited.jpg


Start or Renew your Membership

Our organization always appreciates the generosity and involvement of people like you, with every contribution going towards making Georgetown County Museum even better than it already is.  Please choose your membership level from the options below.  If you have questions, call us at 843-545-7020, or use the contact form on our home page.


Help Us Achieve our Mission

The Georgetown County Museum could not exist without the support of the community.  Volunteering is an easy and fun way of contributing to the work we do here.  We need museum docents and help in the Gift Shop. We can work around your schedule. Get in touch with any questions about how you can partner with us today.

Muff docent.jpg